Center for Biotechnology (CeBiTec)

The Center for Biotechnology is a faculty spanning central academic institution of Bielefeld University. Its purpose is to bundle the biotechnological activities and research projects at the university, to foster crosslinking of research approaches and technologies from different research fields and to develop innovative projects within its two main research areas: “Large Scale Genomics and Big Data Bioinformatics” and “Metabolic Engineering of Unicellular Systems and Bioproduction”.

The first research area focuses on genome research on bacteria relevant for biotechnology, agriculture and the environment, on structural and functional decoding of genomes of crop plants, animal cell cultures and microalgae, on metagenomics analysis of microbial communities as well as on elucidation of the function and interaction of genes and genomes with post-genomics and bioinformatics methods.

Within the second research area microorganisms, unicellular algae, and mammalian cell lines are applied for the production of a broad spectrum of valuable products. These include the sustainable production of bioproducts with microorganisms, the production of recombinant therapeutic and diagnostic proteins in animal cell lines, studies of plant growth and development, the optimisation of the sunlight-to-biomass conversion in phototrophic microorganisms, the production of biofuels with heterotrophic and phototrophic organisms, and the protein production and secretion as well as the synthesis of hydrocarbon compounds and the biocatalytic H2 production with microalgae.

To this end, the three Technology Platforms of CeBiTec, namely for Bioinformatics, for Genomics and for Fermentation & Bioenergy, which are equipped with state-of-the-art instrumental infrastructure, play an important role and their equipment and expertise are indispensable for the fastidious biotechnological research projects conducted by the CeBiTec. Furthermore, the CeBiTec organises several scientific events from workshops and scientific retreats to distinguished lectures and international research conferences.

 

Groups

 

Research Platforms

 

Publications

Center for Biotechnology (CeBiTec)

Das Zentrum für Biotechnologie ist eine fakultätsübergreifende zentrale wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der Universität Bielefeld. Ihr Ziel ist es, die biotechnologischen Aktivitäten und Forschungsprojekte an der Universität zu bündeln, die Verknüpfung von Forschungsansätzen und -technologien aus verschiedenen Forschungsbereichen zu fördern und innovative Projekte in seinen beiden Forschungsfeldern „Large Scale Genomics and Big Data Bioinformatics" und „Metabolic Engineering of Unicellular Systems and Bioproduction" zu entwickeln.

Das erste Forschungsfeld konzentriert sich auf die Genomforschung an Bakterien, die für die Biotechnologie, die Landwirtschaft und die Umwelt relevant sind, auf die strukturelle und funktionelle Entschlüsselung von Genomen von Kulturpflanzen, tierischen Zellkulturen und Mikroalgen, auf die metagenomische Analyse mikrobieller Gemeinschaften sowie auf die Aufklärung der Funktion und Interaktion von Genen und Genomen mit postgenomischen und bioinformatischen Methoden.

Innerhalb des zweiten Forschungsfeldes kommen Mikroorganismen, einzellige Algen und Säugetierzelllinien zur Herstellung eines breiten Spektrums an wertvollen Produkten zur Anwendung. Dazu gehören die nachhaltige Produktion von Bioprodukten mit Mikroorganismen, die Herstellung von rekombinanten therapeutischen und diagnostischen Proteinen in Tierzelllinien, Untersuchungen des Pflanzenwachstums und der -entwicklung, die Optimierung der Sonnenlicht-zu-Biomasse-Umwandlung in phototrophen Mikroorganismen, die Herstellung von Biokraftstoffen mit heterotrophen und phototrophen Organismen und die Proteinproduktion und -sekretion sowie die Synthese von Kohlenwasserstoffverbindungen und die biokatalytische H2-Produktion mit Mikroalgen.

Hierbei spielen die drei Technologieplattformen des CeBiTec, nämlich für Bioinformatik, für Genomik und für Fermentation & Bioenergie, die mit modernster instrumentaler Infrastruktur ausgestattet sind, eine wichtige Rolle. Ihre Ausstattung und das vorhandene Fachwissen sind für die anspruchsvollen biotechnologischen Forschungsprojekte des CeBiTec unverzichtbar. Darüber hinaus veranstaltet das CeBiTec mehrere wissenschaftliche Veranstaltungen von Workshops und wissenschaftlichen Retreats zu hochrangigen Vorträgen und internationalen Forschungskonferenzen.

 

Gruppen

 

Forschungsplattformen

 

Publikationen